Clwydian Hills Report 2019

Sunday 27th October

Race Report – 107 runners, 1 DNF

There were always going to be winners & losers scheduling a welsh race at the same time as Wales were playing a Rugby World Cup semi-final…needless to say the winners had a lovely day on the fells. Cool and sunny with a little cloud later on – we keep getting blessed by the weather gods.

Alistair Thornton – First Gent

As quite a few locals had opted to stay-in-bed, get drunk, watch rugger – it was down to those from slightly further afield to stand (run?) up to the mark. They did not disappoint. Five sleepy headed students from Loughborough University Orienteering Club (LUOC) crammed in a car, drove up, men’s overall, course record & M23 for Alistair Thornton, female F23 for Jenna Williams, Petzl Team Trophy, drove back & I expect got drunk – bossed it – nuff said.

Old course record holder, Lloyd Taggart (Manx) was back at the race for the first time in 7 years and went over the top of Moel Dwywll with Alistair Thorton & Adam Fieldhouse of LUOC, Lawrence Eccles (Penny Lane) & Peter Bray (Chorlton). Alistair Thornton stalked Lloyd up stony gully and over the final summit before out sprinting him on the run-in to set a new course record of 1:16:26 beating the previous by 9 seconds. Lloyd was only 14 seconds behind. Peter Bray came in a few minutes behind.

Lawrence Eccles came in 4th on the day but was enough to get his hands on the prized Ian Brown Memorial Trophy and takes the honour of being Series Champion into February’s Sheeptracks race.

Sophie Horrocks (Rossendale) – First Lady.

Sophie Horrocks (Rossendale Harriers) took the female overall by a good margin from second placed Alice Swift (Chorlton Runners) with Helen “I don’t feel well so I’ll run with the dog oh I’ve come third” Brown (Mynydd Ddu) came in third – so I suppose Dennis gets first dog award as well.

Tom Smith (Bowland), Jeremy Randell (Meirionnydd RC) & Daniel Jones (Denbigh) on Moel Dwywll

LUOC took home the Petzl Team Trophy 458 points from only 5 runners. Tattenhall finished 2nd with 394 points and Pensby with 349 points. Was a great show from the three Chorlton Runners who although only finished 5th averaged 97 points each and were all placed in their categories.

Will Garton (CRR) & Nigel Crompton (Pensby) having too much fun for a hard fell race.

In the junior races Josh Peevor (Eryri Harriers) and Matthew Anthony (Deeside AAC) took the M16 & M18 trophies respectively.

Matthew Anthony (Deeside) – M18 Winner

Refreshments, presentations and the obligatory post-race debrief chats were held in village hall. Special thanks to NEWSAR members and the supporters group for marshalling the race & looking after the runners with homemade soup & cakes.