Sheeptracks Report 2020

Clwydian Sheeptracks 2020 Race Report

In stark contrast to the previous year the race started in torrential driving rain. The weather left a few back in bed but 90 started with 75 finishing their respective courses. After an hour the sun came out and it turned into a lovely day. Starting and finishing at the Village Hall rather than the Waterworks was seen as a great benefit to both organisers and entrants.

Joel Gomes (4th Overall) Photo: Colin Martin (NEWSAR)

The Ram’s race was initially well contested with Lawrence Eccles (Penny Lane) [Champion Ram] & Neil Talbott (Ambleside) heading the pack but after CP8 Lawrence recce’ing came into its own and he disappeared off into the distance and came home in just under 3 hours (the clear winner by 12 minutes.) Matthew Fortes (Eryri) [1st Vet] and Gavin Roberts (Eryri) brought home 2nd & 3rd respectively with Joel Gomes 4th (I think they all held hands so they didn’t get lost).

Damp runners drop into Stony Gully early in the race. Photo: Mike Jones (NEWSAR)

The Ewe’s race was confused affair that saw an injury recovering Jackie Lee (Eryri) [1st Vet Champion Ewe] cross the line unaware she had won as an injury recovering Sophie Horrocks (Rossendale) had turned at CP10/14.

It was Sophie Horrocks (Rossendale) turn to count. Running – ready or not. Photo: Colin Martin

M50 winner was Andy Davies (Mercia) [8th overall] with Charlie McIntosh (Pudsey & Bramley) [12th] in second with John Hunt (Dark Peak) [15th] in third. F50 winner Rachel Sherwen (Run Free) was a delighted winner especially as her running pal finished 2nd Lady Vet – and the chocolate button prize. Big shout out to Edward Lesniak M60 (Achille Ratti) who ran the long course.

The ‘main’ O60 race was run over a shorter 20km course (from next year this will be called the short course and be open to all). Last year’s winner Stephen Jones (Eryri) took the win in the M60 category followed home by Nicholas Holmes (Tattenhall) (again!) with Alan Duncan (Bowland) 3rd. F60 winner was Menai Baugh (Denbigh) and M70 winner John Morris

The Ian Brown Memorial Trophy (Clwydian mini-series) was retained by Lawrence Eccles (Penny Lane) with Simon Edwards (Buckley) in second and Simone Capponi taking third. With his current form Lawrence looks in pole position to retain at the Mountain Race – would make him the first runner to hold for a calendar year – but as always you have to be in it to win it J

Thanks as always to all the helpers, cake bakers, marshals & of course safety cover from the fantastic NEWSAR.

Next year: more of the same – hopefully a little drier