Mountain Race (Time Trial) Entries – FULL

Reserve Entries CLOSED…

Entries will be open for the 60th Anniversary Cilcain Mountain TT Race from this weekend the 8th August. Limited entries only to comply with latest Covid guidance. Most places will be allocated on first come – first served basis but there will be a percentage of reserved places for the following groups: Cilcain residents, former winners, local clubs (who have supported the race over the years), those of ‘advanced years’ and not tech savvy.

Do not enter if you cannot come on the day – 31st August – Bank Holiday Monday. A great deal of effort to get this far – please respect this effort and history of the race. Also no confirmed entry – don’t turn up – simple.

Entries above the agreed limit will be held as reserve.

Format will be a time trial with competitors starting individually or in small groups. Start/Finish will be at the start of the track by the waterworks and the course will be straight up & down the mountain (nearly the original course). All runners will need to call their names to the (TRIG) summit marshal and run around the TRIG point (not the tower). Runners will need to call their names at the finish. Gates will be marshalled open. Minimal route signage. Make yourself familiar with the course. Standard WFRA safety requirements apply.

We have secured parking adjacent to the start/finish to minimise impact on the village. Arrive in good time for your allocated start time but not too early. Depart soon after you finish to clear the car park. Do not linger and avoid grouping.

Please minimise the number of supporters (suggest close family only) and, if they are out on course, ensure they do not group (especially at the summit). Remember there is no Show or facilities available.

Anyone displaying symptoms of Coronavirus should not turn up for the event. They should immediately self-isolate (as well as their household), follow the Welsh Government’s self-isolation guidelines, and apply for a Coronavirus test.

No toilets, no refreshments, no prize giving. Come, run, have fun – then clear off 😉

Sheeptracks Report 2020

Clwydian Sheeptracks 2020 Race Report

In stark contrast to the previous year the race started in torrential driving rain. The weather left a few back in bed but 90 started with 75 finishing their respective courses. After an hour the sun came out and it turned into a lovely day. Starting and finishing at the Village Hall rather than the Waterworks was seen as a great benefit to both organisers and entrants.

Joel Gomes (4th Overall) Photo: Colin Martin (NEWSAR)

The Ram’s race was initially well contested with Lawrence Eccles (Penny Lane) [Champion Ram] & Neil Talbott (Ambleside) heading the pack but after CP8 Lawrence recce’ing came into its own and he disappeared off into the distance and came home in just under 3 hours (the clear winner by 12 minutes.) Matthew Fortes (Eryri) [1st Vet] and Gavin Roberts (Eryri) brought home 2nd & 3rd respectively with Joel Gomes 4th (I think they all held hands so they didn’t get lost).

Damp runners drop into Stony Gully early in the race. Photo: Mike Jones (NEWSAR)

The Ewe’s race was confused affair that saw an injury recovering Jackie Lee (Eryri) [1st Vet Champion Ewe] cross the line unaware she had won as an injury recovering Sophie Horrocks (Rossendale) had turned at CP10/14.

It was Sophie Horrocks (Rossendale) turn to count. Running – ready or not. Photo: Colin Martin

M50 winner was Andy Davies (Mercia) [8th overall] with Charlie McIntosh (Pudsey & Bramley) [12th] in second with John Hunt (Dark Peak) [15th] in third. F50 winner Rachel Sherwen (Run Free) was a delighted winner especially as her running pal finished 2nd Lady Vet – and the chocolate button prize. Big shout out to Edward Lesniak M60 (Achille Ratti) who ran the long course.

The ‘main’ O60 race was run over a shorter 20km course (from next year this will be called the short course and be open to all). Last year’s winner Stephen Jones (Eryri) took the win in the M60 category followed home by Nicholas Holmes (Tattenhall) (again!) with Alan Duncan (Bowland) 3rd. F60 winner was Menai Baugh (Denbigh) and M70 winner John Morris

The Ian Brown Memorial Trophy (Clwydian mini-series) was retained by Lawrence Eccles (Penny Lane) with Simon Edwards (Buckley) in second and Simone Capponi taking third. With his current form Lawrence looks in pole position to retain at the Mountain Race – would make him the first runner to hold for a calendar year – but as always you have to be in it to win it J

Thanks as always to all the helpers, cake bakers, marshals & of course safety cover from the fantastic NEWSAR.

Next year: more of the same – hopefully a little drier